Press Release back to list







George Stephanopoulos, Robin Roberts, LeVar Burton, David Faber and Joe Buck Round Out the Roster


CULVER CITY, CALIF. (April 21, 2021) – The final group of guest hosts to take the JEOPARDY! stage will be George Stephanopoulos, Robin Roberts, LeVar Burton, David Faber and Joe Buck. Each will step up to the lectern for one week to finish the iconic game show’s 37th season. The announcement was made by Mike Richards, Executive Producer of JEOPARDY!.


Our goal has been to present a wide variety of guest hosts with different skill sets and backgrounds on our path to finding a permanent host,” Richards said. “Our passionate fans are telling us what they like, and we are listening. All of the guest hosts have brought individualism, energy and an authentic love of our show to each of their episodes. We look forward to sharing the rest of the season with our viewers.”


As a part of each guest host’s appearance, a donation will be made to a charity of their choice. The amount donated will equal the cumulative winnings of the contestants that compete during the week they serve as guest host.


George Stephanopoulos is anchor of both “Good Morning America” and “This Week with George Stephanopoulos.” He also leads the network’s coverage of all major live events and breaking news around the world. Over the course of his career, Stephanopoulos has conducted interviews with a wide range of subjects garnering him three Emmys, a DuPont, three Murrows, and two Cronkite Awards. Prior to joining ABC News, he served in the Clinton administration as the Senior Advisor to the President for Policy and Strategy and wrote “All Too Human,” a No. 1 New York Times bestseller. George and his wife Ali Wentworth's production company, BedBy8, develops television and film projects across a wide range of subjects.


Anchor of ABC’s “Good Morning America,” Robin Roberts has been honored with a range of accolades throughout her life and career. Some of them include the Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism, induction into the Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame as well as the Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame, a George Foster Peabody Award, a Gracie Award, the Arthur Ashe Courage Award at the ESPY’s in July 2013, and induction into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame. She is the author of “From the Heart: 7 Rules to Live By” and her memoir, “Everybody’s Got Something.” Roberts founded her own production company, Rock'n Robin Productions, which creates original broadcast and digital programming.


LeVar Burton is a multiple award-winning actor, director, educator & cofounder of the Skybrary App, former host and executive producer of PBS's “Reading Rainbow,” and a lifelong children's literacy advocate. He also hosts his own podcast, “LeVar Burton Reads” highlighting the best short fiction. Some of Burton’s most recognizable acting roles are as Kunta Kinte in the acclaimed mini-series “Roots” and as Lt. Commander Geordi LaForge in “Star Trek: The Next Generation.” Over the course of his career, he has earned 13 Emmy Awards, a George Foster Peabody Award, and a Grammy Award.


An award-winning journalist and New York Times best-selling author, David Faber, dubbed “The Brain” by his colleagues, is a former Celebrity JEOPARDY! champion and the current co-anchor of CNBC’s “Squawk on the Street” where he has broken some of the financial world’s biggest stories. Faber also anchors and co-produces acclaimed original documentaries and long-form programming for CNBC. This work has earned him Loeb, Emmy, Peabody, and duPont awards. His book, “The Faber Report,” was published in spring 2002; his second book, “And Then the Roof Caved In,” was published in the summer of 2009.

Joe Buck is a Sports Emmy®-winning sportscaster and three-time recipient of the National Sportscaster of the Year award who is known for his NFL and MLB coverage on Fox network. He has served as the play-by-play announcer for the World Series for the past twenty years and is only the third announcer in history to lead a single television network's MLB and NFL coverage in the same year. He was the 2020 winner of the Pete Rozelle Award, which is presented annually by the Pro Football Hall of Fame in recognition of longtime exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football.


JEOPARDY!’s Greatest of All Time and consulting producer, Ken Jennings, was the first to guest host following the passing of legendary host, Alex Trebek. He was followed by JEOPARDY! Executive Producer Mike Richards, Katie Couric, Dr. Mehmet Oz, Aaron Rodgers, and Anderson Cooper, who is currently in the position. Bill Whitaker, JEOPARDY! All-Star Buzzy Cohen, Mayim Bialik, Savannah Guthrie, and Dr. Sanjay Gupta are also set to take a turn behind the lectern. 


Benefitting charities will be announced later in the season.


Check local listings or visit for show times and stations.


JEOPARDY!, America’s Favorite Quiz Show™ is in its 37th season in syndication. With a weekly audience of 24 million viewers, JEOPARDY! is the top-rated quiz show on television, and has received numerous awards and honors. The show holds the Guinness World Records® title for the most Emmy® Awards won by a TV game show, and it received a Peabody Award for “celebrating and rewarding knowledge.” JEOPARDY! is produced by Sony Pictures Television, a Sony Pictures Entertainment Company; it is distributed domestically by CBS Media Ventures and internationally by ViacomCBS Global Distribution Group, both units of ViacomCBS. For more information, please visit


Follow JEOPARDY!: | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram


# # #

Press Contacts:

Krista Ostensen Osche

Interim Director of Communications | JEOPARDY!

(310) 244-6286


Susie Eun

Senior Publicity Manager | JEOPARDY!

(310) 244-6517




Susie Eun

Krista Ostensen Osche